Retail Price: £10.00


Track Listing:


Klement Slavický - Sonata "Contemplation of Life" (1957-1958)

   1. I. Grave - Molto allegro impetuoso

   2. II. Largo misterioso

   3. III. Molto vivo, deciso 


Maurice Ravel - Sonatine (1905)

  4. I. Modéré

  5. II. Mouvement de Menuet 

  6. III. Animé


Ludwig van Beethoven - Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Op. 57 "Appasionata" (1804-1805)

  7. I. Allegro assai

  8. II. Andante con moto

  9. III. Allegro ma non troppo – Presto




Tomáš Klement (Piano)

Genre: Classical

Year: 2014

Release Date: 25th April 2014 


"Sensitive and colourful... [with] charming clarity, lightness and radiance" Harmonie Magazine (Czech Republic). 


The new album from Czech concert pianist Tomáš Klement, featuring the works of Klement Slavický , Maurice Ravel, and Ludwig van Beethoven.


A Czech concert pianist and chamber musician, Tomáš Klement often performs in festivals in the Czech Republic and the UK. He has performed in venues such as the Royal Albert Hall and Wigmore Hall (London), Avery Fisher Hall (New York), and the Konserthuset (Stockholm), and his playing has been broadcast on Czech Television and national Czech Radio 3, where he has been praised for his captivating performance and rich palette of colours.


The young Czech pianist’s interest in performing neglected music by lesser-known Czech composers eventuated in the album Contemplation of Life, the focus of which is Klement Slavický ‘s same-titled Sonata.


From the pianist: Slavický’s Sonata Contemplation of Life allowed me the opportunity to discover a world ripe with boldness and heaviness- something that I could identify personally with homesickness and nostalgia for my native Czech Republic.


Ravel’s Sonatine and Beethoven’s Appasionata too, are pieces that mark significant and special moments of my life. To me, these two works simultaneously represent the point of reflecting on my life in London during my studies, and the point of looking forward into the next phase of my life as a musician.


All the pieces on this album have the sonata structure in common, and together, I hoped to create a loose sonata structure. Each ‘movement’ takes me to a special memory in my life, starting and ending with the dramatic, but taking many twists and turns in the middle.


Follow the Artist:


Tomáš Klement / In the Mists by Leoš Janáček

Tomáš Klement / Preludes II - 12. Feaux d'artifice by Claude Debussy